The Chancellor

The Chancellor is the titular head of the University. He presides at all ceremonial assemblies of Makerere University and in this name, confers degrees and other academic titles and distinctions. The Chancellor is appointed by the President on the recommendation of the University Council.

Read more about the Chancellor

The University Council

Makerere University Council is the supreme organ responsible for fulfilling the overall administrative objectives and functions of the University. The Council is established under Section 38 of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act (UOTIA), 2001 (as amended). UOTIA is the law that establishes public Universities, of which Makerere University is part.

Read more about Council members | Official Council website

The University Management

In order to implement a transparent communication framework, Makerere University runs an inclusive Management structure divided into three committees. These include; The Central University Management Committee consisting of 17 members, The Top University Management Committee which in addition to the Central Committee also includes the 10 College Principals, and The University Management Consultative Forum which in addition to the Top Management Committee includes the Chief Security Officer, 3 Makerere University Academic Staff Association (MUASA) Representatives, 2 Makerere Administrative Staff Association (MASA) Representatives, 2 National Union on Education Institutions (NUEI) Representatives and 3 Guild Council Representatives.

More about University Management

University Senate

The Senate is the chief academic organ of the University. Read more about University Senate